Battered Women

against domestic violence

When I knew that I had to write an article in this blog, the first thing I thought was to write something about myself, like some of my partners. But when I arrived home after class that day, I heard in the news about a woman who had been killed by her husband. I found it horrible, so I thought that it was a good issue to write about.

Unfortunately, nowadays maltreatment to women is very usual.
In this year about 63 women have been killed by their boyfriends or their husbands.
If you look on the Internet you will see lots of websites in which you can read articles about this.
I have done that and I’ve found some articles which I found really interesting so I’m going to sum up two of them:

– The first case deals with a man who beat, threatened and assaulted his girlfriend. Luckily, he didn’t kill her.
In my opinion he was crazy because I think that people who do that can’t be sane. It’s also interesting to think about the profile of this kind of man. They are usually jealous and possessive people who try to control all the things that their girlfriend or wife does, for instance, they don`t like seeing their girlfriend or wife talking to other men, and they don’t like seeing their wife made up, and although I’m a jealous person myself, I think that relationships should be based on mutual trust, communication and obviously love and if you do this kind of things to your wife or girlfriend, you can’t really love her.

-Another unbeliavable and amazing case deals with a 25-year-old girl who was burnt to death by her ex-husband. The witnesses affirm that the man approached the girl while she was walking down the street on her way to work and he kissed her. After doing that he spilled an inflammable liquid over her and then he lit a lighter, so the girl caught fire.
There was a programme about this case on televisión yesterday. The girl was called Vanesa Rodríguez and she was mother of two little children; her family and friends are shattered.
In this case, the murderer is in prision, but unfortunately, there are a lot of cases in which the killer is free. In many caes, women are not taken seriously by the police or some organizations which deal with these cases, they don’t do anything about it, and finally these women are killed.

In order to finish with this maltreatment to women, I believe that politicians and people who have authority in these issues should do more than they are doing.
If you are interested in this issue you can read more about it in these books:
* Battered women by Leonore Walter.
* Rape in marriage by Diana Russell.

4 thoughts on “Battered Women

  1. Lorena

    I agree with you Patricia in nearly everything you say, but I also think that in many cases the most important problem is that some of these women don´t tell anybody what they are suffering so nobody can help them.

    Reply
  2. Lorena

    I agree with you Patricia in nearly everything you say, but I also think that in many cases the most important problem is that some of these women don´t tell anybody what they are suffering so nobody can help them.

    Reply
  3. Lorena

    I agree with you Patricia in nearly everything you say, but I also think that in many cases the most important problem is that some of these women don´t tell anybody what they are suffering so nobody can help them.

    Reply
  4. Lorena

    I agree with you Patricia in nearly everything you say, but I also think that in many cases the most important problem is that some of these women don´t tell anybody what they are suffering so nobody can help them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

