Fawlty Towers

 

Fawlty Towers is a British sitcom made by the BBC in the 1970s. It is set in a hotel in Torquay and was written by John Cleese – one of the Monty Pythons – who plays the charachter of Basil, the hotel owner. Although it is more than thirty years old, Fawlty Towers became so popular and has influenced so many other shows that has become a classic. This is why they mentioned it in the book and I thought it would be a good idea to link here part of an episode for you to watch.
Watch it and tell me whether you find it funny. You can tell me in class or post a comment!

4 thoughts on “Fawlty Towers

  1. isabel garcía lizcano

    Hello Carmen.I´ve watched the episode of Fawlty towers and I think that it´s funny although I don´t like British humour, in reality I don´t like comedies in general.
    But in relation with the episode, I like the situation with the dog ( her owner thinks that is a person and for her the animal is more important that the people that are bitten by it)specially the confusion with the sausages and the cushion and how the waitress takes revenge on the dog putting pepper in the sausages.

    Reply
  2. isabel garcía lizcano

    Hello Carmen.I´ve watched the episode of Fawlty towers and I think that it´s funny although I don´t like British humour, in reality I don´t like comedies in general.
    But in relation with the episode, I like the situation with the dog ( her owner thinks that is a person and for her the animal is more important that the people that are bitten by it)specially the confusion with the sausages and the cushion and how the waitress takes revenge on the dog putting pepper in the sausages.

    Reply
  3. isabel garcía lizcano

    Hello Carmen.I´ve watched the episode of Fawlty towers and I think that it´s funny although I don´t like British humour, in reality I don´t like comedies in general.
    But in relation with the episode, I like the situation with the dog ( her owner thinks that is a person and for her the animal is more important that the people that are bitten by it)specially the confusion with the sausages and the cushion and how the waitress takes revenge on the dog putting pepper in the sausages.

    Reply
  4. isabel garcía lizcano

    Hello Carmen.I´ve watched the episode of Fawlty towers and I think that it´s funny although I don´t like British humour, in reality I don´t like comedies in general.
    But in relation with the episode, I like the situation with the dog ( her owner thinks that is a person and for her the animal is more important that the people that are bitten by it)specially the confusion with the sausages and the cushion and how the waitress takes revenge on the dog putting pepper in the sausages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

