Franz Ferdinand

 

Franz Ferdinand are an indie rock band, formed in Glasgow, Scotland in 2001.

I first heard about them from one of my friends, and the first time I listened to one of their songs I didn’t notice anything special. But once I started to pay attention to the rhythm and the singer’s voice, I fell in love with this band.

The name of the band was originally inspired by a racehorse called Archduke. After seeing the horse run on television the band began to discuss Archduke Franz Ferdinand and thought it would be a good name because of his sound and the implications of the Archduke’s death (his assassination was the most significant of the many factors which led to World War I). They liked the way it sounded, they liked the “alliteration”, and the name had the same effect on me.

As I said, what I like the most about their music is the rhythm. I’ve read they wanted to make girls move and dance; and I think they do, I can’t stop when I’m listening to their songs. I also like the strong and deep voice of Alex Kapranos, one of the founders of the band.

I haven’t heard a single song by them that I don’t like. Every one has something special and moving for me: Take me out, The Dark of the Matinee, Do you want to, Jacqueline, Darts of pleasure, Walk away… It was also surprising their indie appearance: tight trousers, black and red stripped t-shirts, old-fashioned hairdressing…

Now, I know other indie groups thanks to them, but they´re still my favourite ones.

This is the beginning of Take me out:
So if you’re lonely
You know I’m here waiting for you
I’m just a crosshair
I’m just a shot away from you
And if you leave here
You leave me broken, shattered, I lie
I’m just a crosshair
I’m just a shot, then we can die…

Leave a Reply

