My Chemical Romance*

My Chemical Romance, that is called My Chem or simply MCR by its fans to make it shorter, is a band from the USA.

Brothers Gerard (singer of the group and the one with white hair in the photo) and Mike Way (the bassist), Ray and Frank (the guitarists)and Bob (the drummer) are its  members.

Their style of music is not easy at all to define: it´s  supposed to be underground, whereas a lot of people think that post-hardcore  suits them better and even pop-punk and alternative rock are attributed to this stunning and amazing band.

The idea of creating a  band began when Gerard asked his high-school friend to give it a try in order to make something different and special  with their lives after the 11-S  attack in New York, a fact that caused a huge impression in Gerard´s mind, a man that had been from suffering depressions for a long time that led him to alcoholism as a consequence and who had tried to commit suicide several times during his youth. It was then when they started to  write lyrics and music together and they went on until their first song  (“Skylines and turnstiles“) “was born” for the pleasure of its “proud parents”.

They felt so satisfied and overjoyed with this promising first song that they went on and as time went by, the  band was formed and they made their first record in 2002: “I brought you my bullets, you brought me your love”. After that and until now two more have been  released: “Three Cheers for sweet revenge” and “The Black Parade”. Each one is completely different from the others, as Gerard declares himself; thanks to the continue musical evolution they’re involved in. But they all have at least one thing in common: their macabre,lugubrious and dark lyrics which are mostly related to death. Despite the funeral topics their songs have a unique strength and affecting power. They can change your mood in just a two minutes song, something they can be very proud of.

Some of their most famous songs are: Helena, The Black Parade, I´m not okay and Famous Last Words.

Since  their  beginnings, MCR has worked with bands such as The Used and Green Day and has sold 1.5 m CDs in America and more than 5 m in the rest of the world…and it´s sure that now they’ve got it they´re not gonna stop just right here.

They´re  preparing their next album, but there’s still a long way to go ‘til we can listen to more of their music and of themselves.

“I´m not okay (I promise)”

Well if you wanted honesty, that’s all you had to say.
I never want to let you down or have you go, it’s better off this way.
For all the dirty looks, the photographs your boyfriend took,
Remember when you broke your foot from jumping out the second floor?

I’m not okay
I’m not okay
I’m not okay
You wear me out

What will it take to show you that it’s not the life it seems?
(I’m not okay)
I’ve told you time and time again you sing the words but don’t know what it means
(I’m not okay)
To be a joke and look, another line without a hook
I held you close as we both shook for the last time take a good hard look!

I’m not okay
I’m not okay
I’m not okay
You wear me out

Forget about the dirty looks
The photographs your boyfriend took
You said you read me like a book, but the pages all are torn and frayed

I’m okay
I’m okay!
I’m okay, now
(I’m okay, now)

But you really need to listen to me
Because I’m telling you the truth
I mean this, I’m okay!
(Trust Me)

I’m not okay
I’m not okay
Well, I’m not okay
I’m not o-fucking-kay
I’m not okay
I’m not okay
(Okay)

One thought on “My Chemical Romance*

Leave a Reply

