Would you rather live backwards?

benjamin buttonAt first sight doesn’t sound too bad, does it? you would not be spared the discomforts of old age: the arthritis or the stiff joints would be there but instead of getting worse, all your health problems would gradually improve and disappear …

However, last weekend I went to see The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and after seeing the film I can tell you my answer is: no, no way! I liked the film very much, although it is very long, nearly 3 hours I enjoyed every minute of it, but I can only be grateful that my life is heading in the same direction as everyone else’s!

Did you know that the film is based on a short story by Scott Fitzgerald? You can read the story here, it is just 18 pages long.

I’m posting here a scene from the film (at this point I was already crying my eyes out), where Benjamin gives some advice on life to the daughter he had to leave, when he became too young, so that she and her mother could have a normal life …

[flv:http://www.grapefruit.lararala.com/benjamin.flv 320 128]

For what its worth, its never too late, or in my case too early, to be whoever you want to be. Theres no time limit… start whenever you want… you can change or stay the same. There are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things that you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life that youre proud of and if you find that youre not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.

Have you seen it?  What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Would you rather live backwards?

  1. Bego

    Hi carmen!
    I saw the film some weeks ago and I liked it as well. Although, as you say, is a long film, I didn’t feel bored. I like it very much and I think is a very moving film and makes you think about life.
    I love cinema and I recently saw ‘The reader’.To my mind, although it’s a long film too, it’s worth seeing it.

    Reply
  2. Begoña

    Hi Carmen
    Perhaps you don’t remember me, we met in Santander in ‘Internet en el Aula’. I’ve been reading your work since then and I enjoy your view about books, and in special this one. I haven’t seen the film yet but I promise I’ll do and I’ll talk about it with my students.

    Thanks a lot

    Reply

Leave a Reply

