The Boy in the striped Pyjamas

Wow…what to say about this film?? :$… I should know what to say but, to be honest, I don’t.

In the last month I’ve watched it twice and in two different languages, in English in the EOI and in French at school, but I haven´t been able to understand it all yet. Don’t misunderstand me, I’m not four and I know what the film is about, but every time I watch it I can feel that there’s still some secret i inside it I cannot get to comprehend. I think that apart from a moving and  tough* story there is also a message in its background that is put in our subconscious, probably without us noticing.

The film takes place in Germany, at the beginning of the Second World War, so it´s  set in the late 1930s. The main character is a little german boy, Bruno, who is still  unaware  of the world’s tragic situation. Those spectators who haven´t previously read the book may imagine an  inconsequent  children’s story just for the viewer to enjoy himself for a couple of hours.

Leave a Reply

